So Sylvie and I went to visit our grandparents last weekend.  Fortunately we knew where to find them, after having received over 2 decades’ worth of birthday cards signed “Love, Bubbe & Grandpa from the Bronx.”  First of all, Jennifer Lopez TOTALLY copied that whole “Jenny from the Block” title from my grandparents.  I mean come on, they’re in their nineties.  Although I’ve always found it strange that they insist on constantly including their “hood” with their signatures, I admire their pride.  I think I’m going to start signing my name on documents, both personal and official, “Jacqueline from the ‘Cut.”

The subway trip to the Bronx was rather long, but luckily Sylvie and I brought along a little thing we like to call INTERVENTION.  The people over at A & E also like to call it that too…because that’s the name of the show.  I just wanted to voice our support.  This is only the greatest show in the history of all shows.  Here’s the set up:  There are people.  These people have addictions.  Their families aren’t too down with the destructive behavior of the aforementioned alcoholics, meth addicts, bulimics, etc…  An interventionist arrives (most often Ken Seeley, although we’d prefer more episodes with Jeff Van Vonderen) and leads a pre-intervention with the family members.  They then conduct the actual intervention.  The addict can either accept treatment or continue to lead a life in which death is the most probable outcome.  Usually they accept the treatment, and except for Cristy, it usually works.  Then comes the happy music.  I snap, Sylvie bobs her head along with the friendly melody.

As far as the different kinds of addictions, we are partial to the episodes that follow the tragic lives of alcoholics.  I think this is because the subject is usually crashing into various objects, and with my issues of balance, I can relate.  Also, these episodes are most enjoyable because they encourage audience participation.  Sylvie and I break out the wine and sip along with our struggling friends on the screen, truly trying to connect with their stories.  Poor Marie needed a half gallon of vodka just to make it through the day.  Better pour myself another glass…

We used to be faithful viewers of another “reality” show that often profiles those who are struggling: MTV’s True Life.  But Intervention is way more hardcore.  You don’t have any of that “I’m having a summer romance” bullshit.  Instead you see the truth, the cold hard facts about addiction.  And then of course there’s that happy music at the end to which I must admit a personal addiction…

