If someone turned to me and said “Ok, as fast as you can, what sound represents Applefest?” I would first say “Oh hey,” and then I would say “the bell that signals a fresh batch of kettle corn!”  Obvz.  I didn’t come to appreciate the ringing until two or three Applefests previous.  This is because I have a particularly tragic memory involving caramel popcorn.  And a bathtub.  But that is for another time!  Anyway, I am now a kettle corn enthusiast.  Each piece is subtly sweet, the edible representation of town pride.

The one disappointment this year would have to be the lack of Mrs. Apple.  Mrs. Apple is the name I have given to the jolly, cherubic woman who wanders the fest dressed in full Apple garb.  She is the town’s Santa Clause, and a better Santa than the real one, because she promotes healthy eating as opposed to Christianity.  So this year instead of Mrs. Apple, the town decided to bring the Pink Panther to the green. Luckily Sylvie was able to capture a “money shot” of Sean posing gamely with the festival’s new darling.

Pink Panther. And Sean.

Pink Panther. And Sean.

Also notable was part two of the contest: Jacq and Sean jump off curbs to test their agility.  Sean came out victorious, as he did in part one at last year’s Applefest.  This could stem from the fact that my method of jumping with legs kept straight does not prove to be particularly effective in creating height.  Also, I have really short legs.

Note the straightness of my legs.

Note the straightness of my legs.

And so another Applefest has come and gone.  Luckily Thanksgiving is just a month away, as it’s preventing me from entering the depression that comes after the end of one’s favorite holiday.  Applefest is such a great day, and it doesn’t even involve presents.  The hot apple cider, Beatles cover band, and town youth with backwards baseball caps are present enough.

